talesfromthelyft

A view from the driver's seat

Girlfriend

Leave a comment

Image

I [heart] girlfriend talk. I love analyzing boy behavior, dissecting texts (including time it takes to return text), hearing all the tiny little details of how you met, your first date, your first fight, what it means if he got you a blender for your birthday. Since I don’t know my Lyfters, I only get a limited amount of information so I’m careful not to give advice. I try to play neutral. Sure, you have a right to be mad cause he always asks what’s for dinner without ever offering to cook. Sure he may have cheated this once. But maybe you can work things out?

This Pretty Lady was on her way for a dinner with her ex. She told me she had some wine beforehand, a much needed chill pill. Apparently it was a pretty tumultuous relationship, on and off, but torrid. But they were no good for each other. They were young too, they needed to go their separate ways. She said he was cute and used to getting his way. That he was trouble.

“Then why are you going to dinner with him?”

“I don’t know. But he’s got an agenda I know it. I’m just trying to figure it out. It drives him crazy that I know he’s up to something. I’m smart, you know? He can’t fool me.”

“Maybe you still have feelings for him? You never know.” I gave her the old tried and true, maybe you guys will work it out.

She rummaged in her purse. “You want to see a picture of him?”

I nodded and she passed the phone over.

“OH HELL NO GIRL.”

She nodded. “I told you.”

They say a photo is worth a thousand words. This one said NONONONONONO a thousand times. Cheekbones up to here. Thin moustache. Devilish smile. Arms flung around a bevy of girls.  Way too good looking and he knew it. I may not have known her or him, but I knew instantly that this guy was bad. And not Michael Jackson bad.

She told me he burned his parent’s house down when he was 13 cause he was making explosives in the basement.

Nuff said.

If I had a better pic, I’d blow it up and post it as a Public Service Announcement. Girlfriends gotta stick together.

Leave a Reply

